Rainy Day + Spring Break = Cooking/Blogging

Hello All,

It rained today in Norman.

And it was my first day of Spring Break.

So naturally I put those two things together and cooked.

🙂

A classic rainy day/comfort food meal in my book is tomato soup and grilled cheese.  So to go along with that theme I decided to instead whip up some Tomato Basil Soup myself, ala La Madeline (of the DFW area).

Started with the ingredients:

Note: I tastefully put my basil in a little glass bowl for the picture. #Bigtime

The new thing I learned with this recipe was how to dice carrots, and let’s just say it was a big test of my patience/fine motor skills.  But I think I pulled it off.

Reduce. . .

Simmer. . .

Blend. . .

And serve up a freaking good bowl of tomato basil soup with a lightly toasted grilled cheese.

From this experience I learned how to dice carrots, and hopefully figure out what size saucepans to use. . . three times I had to switch the soup from difference saucepans because of my poor judgement in size.  It’s a great way to add more dishes to the sink, I guess that just adds to my proficient dish washing 😉

Now the biggest step was the music selection, I tried listening to some “rainy day” music and found that “rainy day” music + an actual rainy day + making the ultimate “rainy day comfort food” just made everything to. . . rainy dayish!  So I instead cranked up the sound system with some Fun.  And I will admit that I did put the first two songs on the album on repeat and listened to them 8 times, I like them.

So please listen & thank me later 😉

Goodbye!

joel

Leave a comment